2024 Oscar Shortlist for Original Song Includes Barbie, Olivia Rodrigo

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has revealed its shortlists for 2024 Oscar nominees in several categories, including Best Original Song and Best Original Score.

Of the 15 songs on the Oscar shortlist for Best Original Song, three come from Barbie: “Dance the Night” sung by Dua Lipa; “I’m Just Ken” sung by Ryan Gosling; and “What Was I Made For?” sung by Billie Eilish.

Also on the Best Original Song shortlist are Olivia Rodrigo for “Can’t Catch Me Now” from The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes; Sharon Van Etten for “Quiet Eyes” from Past Lives; Jarvis Cocker for “Dear Alien (Who Art In Heaven)” from Asteroid City; Jon Batiste for “It Never Went Away” from American Symphony; and Metro Boomin, A$AP Rocky, and Roisee for “Am I Dreaming” from Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse.

The shortlist for Best Original Score includes Consequence’s 2023 Composer of the Year, Ludwig Göransson, who is in contention for his work on Oppenheimer. Other candidates include the late Robbie Robertson for Killers of the Flower Moon; John Williams for Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny; Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt for Barbie; Mica Levi for The Zone of Interest; and Jon Batiste for American Symphony.

The finalists in each of these categories and the rest of the 2024 Oscar nominees will be announced on January 23rd. Winners will then be awarded during the televised ceremony scheduled to take place on March 10th.

Best Original Songs Shortlist

Jon Batiste – “It Never Went Away” (American Symphony)

Jarvis Cocker – “Dear Alien (Who Art In Heaven)” (Asteroid City)

Dua Lipa – “Dance The Night” (Barbie)

Ryan Gosling – “I’m Just Ken” (Barbie)

Billie Eilish – “What Was I Made For?” (Barbie)

Halle Bailey and Phylicia Pearl Mpasi – “Keep It Movin’” (The Color Purple)

Fantasia – “Superpower (I)” (The Color Purple)

Becky G – “The Fire Inside”(Flamin’ Hot)

Eve Hewson & Orén Kinlan – “High Life” (Flora and Son)

Joseph Gordon-Levitt & Eve Hewson – “Meet In The Middle” (Flora and Son)

Olivia Rodrigo – “Can’t Catch Me Now” (The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes)

Osage Tribal Singers – “Wahzhazhe (A Song For My People)” (Killers of the Flower Moon)

Sharon Van Etten – “Quiet Eyes” (Past Lives)

Lenny Kravitz – “Road To Freedom” (Rustin)

Metro Boomin x A$AP Rocky x Roisee – “Am I Dreaming” (Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse)

Best Original Score Shortlist

Laura Karpman – American Fiction

Jon Batiste – American Symphony

Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt – Barbie

Joe Hisaishi – The Boy and the Heron

Kris Bowers – The Color Purple

Thomas Newman – Elemental

Mark Orton – The Holdovers

John Williams – Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny

Robbie Robertson – Killers of the Flower Moon

Ludwig Göransson – Oppenheimer

Jerskin Fendrix – Poor Things

Anthony Willis – Saltburn

Michael Giacchino – Society of the Snow

Daniel Pemberton – Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Mica Levi – The Zone of Interest

Author: Michael

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *